Frequently Asked Questions…
Local, State and Federal Regulations
What are the minimum requirements for purchasing a handgun in the state of Florida?
To legally purchase a handgun in the state of Florida, you must be a Florida resident who is at least 21 years of age. You must show a valid, state issued ID that shows your full name, date of birth, and current Florida address. If the address on your valid ID is not current, you must show proof of address with any government issued document such as a vehicle registration or a current municipal utility bill.
What are the minimum requirements for purchasing a shotgun or rifle (long gun) in the state of Florida?
To legally purchase a long gun in the state of Florida, you must be a resident of Florida or a state that allows you to purchase long guns outside of your state. You must be at least 18 years of age. You must show a valid, state issued ID that shows your full name, date of birth, and current address. If the address on your valid ID is not current, you must show proof of address with any government issued document such as a vehicle registration or a current municipal utility bill.
Do I need to fill out an ATF Form 4473 and submit to a background check if I hold a valid Florida concealed carry permit?
Yes. If you purchase any firearm from a federally licensed firearms dealer (FFL), you are subject to all federal, state, and local requirements governing the sale and purchase of firearms.
How long is the waiting period for a firearms purchase?
Florida state law requires a 72 hour waiting period for handgun sales without a valid Florida concealed carry permit. The waiting period for handguns does not include weekends or holidays. The 72 hour waiting period begins with the initial transaction to the FFL. There is not a waiting period for long gun (rifle or shotgun) purchases.
FLORIDA STATUTE 790.0655: 790.0655 Purchase and delivery of handguns; mandatory waiting period; exceptions; penalties.— (1)(a) There shall be a mandatory 3-day waiting period, which shall be 3 days, excluding weekends and legal holidays, between the purchase and the delivery at retail of any handgun. “Purchase” means the transfer of money or other valuable consideration to the retailer. “Handgun” means a firearm capable of being carried and used by one hand, such as a pistol or revolver. “Retailer” means and includes every person engaged in the business of making sales at retail or for distribution, or use, or consumption, or storage to be used or consumed in this state, as defined in s. 212.02(13). (b) Records of handgun sales must be available for inspection by any law enforcement agency, as defined in s. 934.02, during normal business hours. (2) The 3-day waiting period shall not apply in the following circumstances: (a) When a handgun is being purchased by a holder of a concealed weapons permit as defined in s. 790.06. (b) To a trade-in of another handgun. (3) It is a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084: (a) For any retailer, or any employee or agent of a retailer, to deliver a handgun before the expiration of the 3-day waiting period, subject to the exceptions provided in subsection (2). (b) For a purchaser to obtain delivery of a handgun by fraud, false pretense, or false representation.
I am in the military, but I am not a resident of the state. Can I legally purchase a firearm in the state of Florida?
Yes. As an active duty military member assigned to a military installation in the state of Florida, you are considered a Florida resident. The minimum ages for handgun (21) or long gun (18) purchases still apply. You will be required to provide a valid state ID, your DoD ID, a copy of your official orders assigning you to the Florida military installation, and proof of current address.
What are acceptable documents to use for proof of current address?
Any document, provided by a municipal, county, state, or federal agency, which accurately reflects your current residential address is acceptable. Examples: a current water/utility bill from the city, a county property tax bill/statement, a Florida vehicle registration, a current W-2. The only acceptable, non-government documents that can be submitted for proof of address are either a signed & notorized rental lease or purchase deed. Bank statments, credit card bills, and similar documents are not acceptable.
Black Flag Armory Policies
Do you have a layaway program?
YES! We have a simple 45-day layaway program for in stock firearms priced at $300 or more. Please check out our Layaway Terms & Conditions.
What forms of payment does Black Flag Armory accept?
We are set up to accept most forms of payment. For point of sale transactions we accept cash, USPS money orders, bank issued cashiers checks, and all major credit/debit cards. For internet/auction sales and layaway payments we accept all of the previously mentioned forms of payment, as well as personal checks and direct bank to bank transfers. We do not accept PayPal for firearm purchases. For more information or questions regarding our payment policies please contact us.